Story Notes: Marking the Witch

Today my first story, “Marking the Witch,” was published at Flash Fiction Online!

Alina’s witch lived in a third-floor walkup downtown, and she preferred sunglasses to pointy hats. She had another name of course, but everyone knew what she was, and so in whispers and rumors, she was only The Witch.

You can read it for free online, or get an ebook of the issue for just 99 cents, or subscribe for a whole year for just $10.

This is the first flash piece I wrote, and it came about at a weird time in my life, when I was unemployed and directionless and unsure of myself. It’s about love and witches, an also about wanting to find yourself but not wanting to change. I’m very happy to see it at FFO, which has published a lot of my favorite strange and lovely flash fictions.

Soundtrack:

6 thoughts on “Story Notes: Marking the Witch

  1. I just got done reading it myself! Absolutely beautiful! I loved it 🙂 I also enjoyed your previous post… I agree, we need more stories in these perilous times! Your motivation calendar is a great idea!! I wish you luck on your writing and look forward to reading more of your work!

Leave a Reply

