Writing Update (with Sales!)

Folks, it has been a hell of a summer.

Short Fiction News

2016 is the first year where I’ve tried actually submitting things in any systemic way. In 2015, I finally hit a point where I could look at my finished writing and feel emotions other than frustration. There’s still a lot I’d like to improve on in my writing, but I felt like I’d reached a point where I’d be happy to see my stuff out in the wild.

And (drum roll please) I’ve sold two pieces!

My weird, second-person-POV monster hunter story “Extinctions” will be appearing in Shimmer, and my  motherhood in multiple dimensions story “Seven Permutations of My Daughter” will be appearing in Lightspeed. I’ve been reading the stories in these magazines for a long time, and they’re both on my “dream markets” list. I’m honestly still in a bit of shock.

Anyway, watch for these pieces, which will be out sometime before the inevitable heat-death of the universe.

giphy

Numbers to Satisfy My Inner Rejectomancy Nerd*

So far in 2016, I’ve made 27 submissions. One of those is technically from December 2015, but since I didn’t hear back on it until well into 2016, I’m counting it as this year. I sent seven pieces out into the big wide world and got about an even split between encouraging personals and somewhat less encouraging form rejections.

Interestingly, the sales are my oldest piece and one of my newest. My word processor informs me that “Extinctions” was written in October 2014, while “Seven Permutations” was finished in May of this year. They’re also two of my longest pieces, which doesn’t tell me much beyond “fiction between 1000 and 2000 words is hard to sell” which I already knew.

In the interest of recording totally useless statistics, “Extinctions” was rejected four times before acceptance and “Seven Permutations” three times.

Other Projects

I am shamefully behind on novel writing. Novels for me take a kind of highly focused attention that I don’t have right now. I have written a bit on Untitled Project #1 (“lesbian knight YA epic fantasy”) but Project #2 (“detective solves mystery in post-magical-apocalypse Philadelphia”) really needs a full outline and god, I just hate outlining.

I’ve also got two longer projects in the very beginning stages, which means I mull them over in my brain occasionally.

In short fiction, I’ve got one old story I’d like to see if I can polish up, as my other stories are all out on submission right now. This seemed like a quick project, but as I got into it I realized that I’ll probably have to rewrite most of it. The bones are there, but I’ve grown a lot as a writer in the three years since the first draft.

Here’s hoping life stays interesting.

 

*I gotta say, I really like the numbers part of this business. The Submissions Grinder has really gamified the whole process for me. Every time I get a rejection I get all excited to update my counts.

Leave a Reply

